[New Users] Please note that all new users need to be approved before posting. This process can take up to 24 hours. Thank you for your patience.
Check out the v.249 - Minar Picnic Patch Notes here!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forums Code of Conduct: https://forums.maplestory.nexon.net/discussion/29556/code-of-conducts

Maplestory and it's latency problem

todayYoudieetodayYoudiee
Reactions: 885
edited March 2020 in Tech Support
First, some considerations:

Please note that I am no developer, nor I have skills to implement or fix any of the problems listed here, my thoughts come from experience playing the game and past changes made by Nexon itself.

I do not have English as my mother tongue, so please don't mind some of the mistakes I may have committed down bellow in the post.

If you have more experience in any of the cases approached bellow, PLEASE, do share them in the comments bellow so we can have a better discussion here, I do not have a lot of experience with most of the classes I listed here, so i MIGHT, and probably will be wrong about some details.

These comes from heart and it's only intention is to promote a better gaming experience for everyone, so don't be rude/insensitive. I love Maplestory as a lot of you do, it's a bittersweet love, we all know.

Now, buckle up and bear with me:

As a game that is played in a global scale, we need a different treatment and some adjustments are required, most of the classes are created in KMS, as you may know, Korea is a small country, no matter where you at, you'll have a close connection to Nexon's servers and will have a small ping(9-20ms of latency).
The dev team in Korea happens to create characters with mechanics that relies on ping to work well,