[New Users] Please note that all new users need to be approved before posting. This process can take up to 24 hours. Thank you for your patience.
Check out the v.249 - Minar Picnic Patch Notes here!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forums Code of Conduct: https://forums.maplestory.nexon.net/discussion/29556/code-of-conducts

Chat Censor/Filter Option

CobainCobain
Reactions: 780
edited January 2017 in Suggestions, Feedback, and Requests
I feel the chat censor is outdated and useless now. I started playing Maple back in '07 when Mardia was a new server and I think the chat filter is the same as it was back then. We used to experiment to find out which combination of words would get Filtered. I'm posting this requesting an option to disable the chat filter as per Client side only. So if I disable the filter, when someone says something that would normally be censored out, I can still see their original message.
I think this would actually be a much better implement then actually getting rid of the filter all together. I know some kids that know more curse words then I do and I'm 31 years old. Also, some of the things that are censored out, aren't even curse words. Like cc8 is censored out, but there is nothing innapropriate there. Even in slang, or 1337 speak, that still means nothing. It would be nice to understand what ppl in my guild/alliance/game chat were trying to say without having to ask them to repeat themselves in seperate lines as their chat was censored.
KisjSinDitBRGoldAdventurer
  1. Would you like this feature?17 votes
    1. Yes
       94% (16 votes)
    2. No
       0% (0 votes)
    3. Don't care
       6% (1 vote)

Comments

• KisjKisj
    Reactions: 1,100
    edited January 2017
    Let's make this happen people!
    Cobain
  • PetalmagicPetalmagic
    Reactions: 7,660
    edited January 2017
    ...and some of us remember when they did remove the filter...the community quickly had shown how "mature" they could be with it :T