[New Users] Please note that all new users need to be approved before posting. This process can take up to 24 hours. Thank you for your patience.
Check out the v.249 - Minar Picnic Patch Notes here!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forums Code of Conduct: https://forums.maplestory.nexon.net/discussion/29556/code-of-conducts

An idea for launching the game

MayetalaMayetala
Reactions: 1,520
edited February 2017 in Suggestions, Feedback, and Requests
I think it goes without saying that logging into this game is a mess. Myself, along with many other players it seems, are having trouble getting past the region select screen or the character select screen without the game freezing or crashing.

With that being said, let me suggest something. I'm no programmer or anything, so if I'm incorrect in stating these points, go ahead and let me know, or just dismiss this. But here's the way I see things:

Right now, the process to load the game is to first, launch it. Then, pick your region. Then pick your character and type in your PIC. So first, by clicking the launcher to start the game, you're telling Nexon's servers "okay, boot the game up, and load this data (intro graphics, V trailer, region select)." Then, when you pick your region, you're telling the servers "okay, load from this particular server" whichever one it is.

This is my suggestion. What if we had two separate options when we first launch the game? For example, have two different buttons that say "Launch North America" or "Launch Europe." The intro graphics and the trailers would still play just the same, but it would make the region select screen within the game completely unnecessary, and quite frankly I believe that's where a lot of these login issues are coming from. It would also tell Nexon's servers what data to load right away, eliminating a step in the login process.