[New Users] Please note that all new users need to be approved before posting. This process can take up to 24 hours. Thank you for your patience.
Check out the v.249 - Minar Picnic Patch Notes here!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forums Code of Conduct: https://forums.maplestory.nexon.net/discussion/29556/code-of-conducts

Changing How 2x Events are Done

FutureChrisFutureChris
Reactions: 2,220
Member, Volunteer Forum Moderator, Private Tester
edited September 2018 in Suggestions, Feedback, and Requests
I'm no stranger to 2x events. I've been playing Maple since about summer 2005; events like this were extremely rare and meant whether or not you'd be able to reach level 50 during the weekend before going back to school. Nowadays, I've come to absolutely loathe 2x events, even though someone at my level (243) should be excited to get a semblance of good rates. I'd single out one reason, but as I reflect on it, there's a multitude of reasons why I think the current method of 2x events is showing it's age, so I'll list em' out:

1. Server Population: During the day of these events, I'll be seeing people say that all 20 channels of CLP, LP1, and even LP2 are taken up, same with Slurpy and most likely FES2. Like people waiting for a highly-desired product, they camp out hours ahead of time in preparation, sometimes up to 4-6 hours. If you're just sitting around in Hene or literally anywhere else, you're outta luck for the next three hours if you actually wanted to do any kinda progression.

2. Server Instability: Reboot + People that suddenly want to grind all at once leads to a lot of lag/disconnects which leads to lost maps.