[New Users] Please note that all new users need to be approved before posting. This process can take up to 24 hours. Thank you for your patience.
Check out the v.249 - Minar Picnic Patch Notes here!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forums Code of Conduct: https://forums.maplestory.nexon.net/discussion/29556/code-of-conducts

Is it worth coming back after 2 years?

ManThighManThigh
Reactions: 850
edited October 2018 in General Chat
Hi, I started playing MapleStory around the time it merged into GMS. I don't think I've gotten too far due to being a fairly casual and not that knowledgeable player, maybe around lv80. I ultimately stopped playing the game around 2 years ago, because I got more into other ones.

Recently though, with some friends talking about MS2 (which I'm not that interested in), I thought of this game and wanted to check the forums out and see what's been up. I'd probably have to read through the changelog, but I doubt anything's changed for my level.

Mostly writing this thread to receive some answers/opinions from the community; is the game worth sinking some time into? How active is it compared to 2 years ago? Has there been any game-breaking update which massively increased/decreased the number and activity of players? Any personal opinions would be welcome as well..

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• FuhreakFuhreak
    Reactions: 7,440
    Member, Private Tester
    edited October 2018
    I personally think the game is worth playing. I'm extremely involved in the story and love every time I get a quest which deals with the main plot.

However there are some glaring issues with the game that can't be denied.
    The population is extremely low, or it seems that way, because not many players are social outside of their own guilds.
    Many people complain about grind. Some claiming it is too hard, some saying that it is too easy. It seems like as far as grind goes it's either love hate or more hate.