[New Users] Please note that all new users need to be approved before posting. This process can take up to 24 hours. Thank you for your patience.
Check out the v.249 - Minar Picnic Patch Notes here!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forums Code of Conduct: https://forums.maplestory.nexon.net/discussion/29556/code-of-conducts

Trying to understand the stats of my class . . .

JostabeereJostabeere
Reactions: 650
edited September 2019 in General Chat
So I am kinda new to Maplestory again. I played it a bit maybe a decade ago. Now I am just above 70 and I am wondering about some stuff other sites couldn't tell me.

-The 4 main stats. STR, INT, DEX and LCK. Do they do anything else besides raising the base damage of the corresponding class? Like INT giving mana regen or more mana?
-Is there any sense to levelling HP or MP? I can spend my AP on them, can't I?
-I am very confused about how stats actually improve anything. I always forgot to level them up. Yesterday I grinded a lot and looked at my damage numbers. Around 3-4K per hit with the Fairy Dust skill or whatever it's called on my Wind Archer. After I dumped 60 points into DEX, I did the same damage to the same monsters. Why? Shouldn't I do much more, or even noticeably more damage? 60 points are a lot. So I'm questioning the usefulness of the stat. If they don't change the damage of my skills whatsoever, wouldn't skilling HP and MP be smarter?

Edit: Also to squeeze this one unrelated question in. I started to play on Luna because I thought reboot is a rever which reboots itself once in a while. Was this a mistake? Is reboot a better server to play on?

Comments

• HuskyDMHuskyDM
    Reactions: 3,745
    edited September 2019
    To go one by one...
    Jostabeere wrote: »
    -The 4 main stats. STR, INT, DEX and LCK. Do they do anything else besides raising the base damage of the corresponding class? Like INT giving mana regen or more mana?