[New Users] Please note that all new users need to be approved before posting. This process can take up to 24 hours. Thank you for your patience.
Check out the v.249 - Minar Picnic Patch Notes here!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the Forums Code of Conduct: https://forums.maplestory.nexon.net/discussion/29556/code-of-conducts

Code Optimization for DMT

EternityMaxEternityMax
Reactions: 1,120
edited July 2020 in Suggestions, Feedback, and Requests
At the time of me writing this, the compensation DMT is ongoing, and, well... once again it is lagging just like last time. It's even acknowledged by Ghiblee on Discord.

I'm not a professional programmer or anything, nor do I know anything about MapleStory's code, but as someone with a bit of experience, a certain possibility did cross my head:

I'm assuming the lag between cube usage is caused by tons of people doing the exact same thing: Re-rolling their potential stats. I think it's done by sending a re-roll request to the server, and then the server responds with the RNG'd new stats.
When the server has to receive requests and respond a trillion times a second, it's obviously gonna cause strain and lag.

IF what I said is correct at all, then how about this - Make the reroll for Black Cubes client-sided.
I.E when using a Black Cube, don't send any request to the server. Instead, show us the new RNG'd stats in an offline/client-sided manner, AND increment the number of cubing attempts we did.
Send a request to the server to update our equip's potential ONLY after we click on one of the choices (The 'before' or the 'after'). Update the number of cubes in our inventory accordingly as well.

My suggestion doesn't account for Red Cubes, but a lot of people use mostly Black Cubes during DMT (I think lol). So this should reduce the number of requests the server has to receive and respond to, thus reducing the lag.